Overview top

Specialist units are designed to provide a specific occupational focus to the qualification and are aligned to vendor accredited certification 

Students will study: 


  • Unit 1 Programming 
  • Unit 2 Networking 
  • Unit 3 Professional Practice 
  • Unit 4 Database Design and Development 
  • Unit 5 Security 
  • Unit 6 Managing a Successful Computing Project 


  • Unit 9 Software Development Lifecycles 
  • Unit 10 Website Design and Development

Entry Requirements top

A BTEC Level 3 qualification in Computing achieving Merit overall or a GCE Advanced Level profile that demonstrates strong performance in a relevant subject achieving a Merit overall. 

Related work or industry experience 

An international equivalent of the above

Assessment top

Learners will be assessed through written coursework and controlled assessment. 

Professional Opportunities top

Students may progress into employment, a foundation degree or gain direct access on to a number of full undergraduate degree courses.