Overview top

The BTEC level 3 in computing runs over the course of two years. In your first year you will complete the foundation diploma, before topping up to the extended diploma in your second year of study.

The BTEC level 3 in computing will comprise of thirteen units (six in year one, and seven in year two). These units will be assessed through practical and written work as well as exams.

The Level 3 course is designed to cover the fastest growing areas in computing today, as well as teaching you a skill set that has been requested by employers around the North East.

Over the course of your two years you will look at the following units.

Year 2 (Extended Diploma)

  • Unit 3: Planning and Management of Computer Projects (Controlled Assessment)
  • Unit 4: Software Design and Development Project (Controlled Assessment)
  • Unit 9: The Impact of Computing
  • Unit 11: Digital Animation and Graphics
  • Unit 17: Mobile App Development
  • Unit 19: Computer Networking
  • Unit 21: Virtualization

    Entry Requirements top

    Entry requirements to this course are 5 GCSEs grade C (4) or above, including maths and English.

    Alternatively, a level 2 computing course at Merit level achievement may be used to gain a place.

    Assessment top

    This course is assessed over 13 units. The units are a mixture of portfolio work and examinations.

    Professional Opportunities top

    Upon completion of the two year course, progression opportunities include the Foundation Degree in Computing at South Tyneside College as well as countrywide undergraduate degrees within computing.

    Dates & Fees top

    Fee: £2618 (19+ learners only)