Overview top

The BTEC level 3 in computing runs over the course of two years. In your first year you will complete the foundation diploma, before topping up to the extended diploma in your second year of study.

The BTEC level 3 in computing will comprise of thirteen units (six in year one, and seven in year two). These units will be assessed through practical and written work as well as exams.

The Level 3 course is designed to cover the fastest growing areas in computing today, as well as teaching you a skill set that has been requested by employers around the North East.

Over the course of your two years you will look at the following units.

Year 2 (Extended Diploma)

  • Planning and management of computer projects

  • Software design and development project

  • The impact of computing

  • Digital graphics

  • Object orientated programming

  • Computer networking

  • Virtualization

Entry Requirements top

Entry requirements to this course are 5 GCSEs grade C or above, including maths and English.

Alternatively, a level 2 computing course at Merit level achievement may be used to gain a place.

Assessment top

This course is assessed over 13 units. The units are a mixture of portfolio work and examinations.

Professional Opportunities top

Upon completion of the two year course, progression opportunities include the Foundation Degree in Computing at South Tyneside College as well as countrywide undergraduate degrees within computing.

Dates & Fees

Reduced fees may be applicable depending upon your personal circumstances, please contact us for details
Start End 16-18 Year Old 19+ Tution Fee
4/9/2017 29/6/2018 Free £3345.00 /£3345.00*
*Fee for non-UK residents
Whilst we make every effort to ensure that all information relating to courses and fees is correct on the website it is always advisable to call our Student Services team to check the current situation with regards to fees and funding.